Friday, July 23, 2010

When Stereotypes Don't Pan Out

It was one of the lazier days of our family vacation on Wednesday, our last full day in the LA area. So with our trips to Disneyland complete, we did our best American Idol wanna-be impression and went to Hollywood. After a quick drive up and down Hollywood Boulevard, we headed into the hills towards the famous Hollywood sign.

As an aside, it was both comical and surprising that the GPS in our van actually had “Hollywood Sign” programmed as an attraction. When we got to the suggested address, it was actually someone’s house…haha.

After snaking our way through the windy roads, we found a great lookout place affording a good view of the sign. However, it wasn’t the safest of places, as the road dropped off almost immediately to the mountainside…hence the “no parking” signs plastered everywhere. We decided to risk it though for the sake of a couple of good pictures.

We parked the van in front of a red pick-up truck (who by default was also illegally parked) and proceeded to take a few shots of the kids. I noticed the couple from the truck taking some of those “hold the camera as far out as you can with your arm extended so I can take a picture of ourselves” self-portraits with a pretty darn expensive-looking camera.

Wanting a family shot as well, I asked them if they could take a family picture for us before they left.

“Sure,” the male answered, stepping down from his truck.

“What’s your name, bro?” I asked.

“Kenji.”

“I’m Clay,” I said, extending my hand. “Are you Japanese?”

“Yes, I am.”

“I’m half. So you’re probably good at taking pictures then.”

Kenji offered a sympathy laugh while Gail shook her head in disgust, having heard me use that line countless times before. Usually, I’ll say it about myself in offering to take pictures for others. For example, a common occurrence at Disneyland went like this:

***

Clay sees a family taking a picture but with one member missing (the photographer).

Clay offers to take the picture for the family.

The family obliges.

“It will be good, I promise,” Clay says, “I’m Japanese. We make these things (referring to the camera).”

Family doesn’t know if they should laugh or run away.

***

Anyway, back to the current story. As we took our places for our picture, I asked Kenji about the massive contraption he had hanging around his neck.

“It’s a Nikon 42-6.934-G-SL-R-U-Crazy” he said. Actually, he named the true model of the camera but I have no clue what it was.

“Wow” was my articulate answer.

“Yeah, it costs like 9 thousand grand.”

I could barely contain my laughter. Technically, Kenji just told me that his camera cost him 9 million dollars. I knew it was nice…a heck of a lot nicer than my Canon PowerShot…but I’m pretty sure he meant to say 9 thousand…or 9 grand.

“Well, hopefully this one isn’t too complicated for you” I chuckled as I gave him our Canon to use.

I was extremely confident as Kenji took 3 shots of our family, each time adjusting the camera ever-so-slightly to surely get both our smiling faces and the Hollywood sign in. I mean...we had the best situation possible: a Japanese guy who was into photography taking pictures for us.

He handed me back the camera and then asked if I could return the favour for him and his lady-friend…using his Nikon of course. I said sure, and as I put the marvellous piece of equipment around my neck, I thought of myself as the ultimate photographer: Derek Juneson, Pat Guevara, Peter Vetter and Megan Siy all rolled into one.

After what seemed like a 10-minute tutorial on how to use thing, I snapped a few shots of them, carefully focusing on their faces before shifting towards the sign in the background. After a couple of practice shots, Kenji seemed pleased with the results. So I was pleased with myself too. I was pretty darn nervous. After all, I had a 9 thousand grand camera around my neck.

We said good-bye and headed off in our respective vehicles. At a stoplight a few minutes later, I took a quick look at the shots. I was happy with the ones of the kids and of Gail and me. Then, I saw the family pictures that Kenji had taken.

The first one had the bottom part of Jake’s face chopped off, and Sean’s mouth covered up by Jake’s head.

The second one only had Jake’s hair…the rest of him was missing.

The third one was very similar to the first…with the same amount of Jake missing but more of Sean covered up.

Needless to say, I was extremely disappointed. Not one of them turned out well, despite the great potential. I admit that it wasn’t Kenji’s fault that Sean was partially covered by Jake…but he still could have said something.

I guess the old adage is true sometimes: if you want something done right, you have to do it yourself.

Either that, or don’t presume that all Japanese people with expensive cameras can take good pictures.

I’m still gonna use my line though!

No comments:

Post a Comment